Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Bitmap dropdown list ?

For general discussion related FlowStone

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby Spogg » Thu Oct 04, 2018 10:43 am

tulamide wrote:It's actually not that difficult.

The basis is Flowstone's ability to move a view within another view. Just move the "menu" view out of sight, then when the user clicks to open the menu, move it to that coordinates. The code for the menu itself would be much like a listbox, so my Ruby listbox module might be a good starting point:
http://www.dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3928


Interesting points tulamide.
I knocked up a quick demo using your excellent Ruby listbox instead of the standard Windows one. Was this the sort of thing you had in mind?
Of course it’s not actually a bitmap-based selector but maybe it could be adapted somehow…?

Cheers

Spogg
Attachments
listbox selector dev 3 .fsm
(26.15 KiB) Downloaded 833 times
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3323
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby tulamide » Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:24 am

Spogg wrote:
tulamide wrote:It's actually not that difficult.

The basis is Flowstone's ability to move a view within another view. Just move the "menu" view out of sight, then when the user clicks to open the menu, move it to that coordinates. The code for the menu itself would be much like a listbox, so my Ruby listbox module might be a good starting point:
http://www.dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3928


Interesting points tulamide.
I knocked up a quick demo using your excellent Ruby listbox instead of the standard Windows one. Was this the sort of thing you had in mind?
Of course it’s not actually a bitmap-based selector but maybe it could be adapted somehow…?

Cheers

Spogg

Yes, that's exactly what I had in mind. The use of the selector is even better than moving the view, in this case. Regarding Bitmap, I didn't really notice this bit. But if you're working with names (file names, patch names, etc) a bitmap version would be very difficult. Adding a bitmap (for example an icon) to a line in the listbox is not so difficult. Just use the same mechanics as for bitmap knobs (a bitmap strip of possible icons, and an index-based copy of the part of the strip you need), and draw it within the coordinates of the line in question.

I know it isn't much help, but I currently can't do an example.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2687
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby lalalandsynth » Thu Oct 04, 2018 12:29 pm

I had something like this in mind , a dropdown with PNg images , just looks so much better.
Let me see if I can hack something together from that example, although my skills are super limited :P
EDIT: I quickly realize that this is outside my knowledge by far. hehe

I can use the index to switch Png´s and then I make the dropdown in a custom color and font , then this might work.
If I can make the initial selector invisible and just sit on top of the PNG

Sweet


Capture front FS.png
Capture front FS.png (53.84 KiB) Viewed 12557 times
User avatar
lalalandsynth
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby lalalandsynth » Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:02 pm

This could work with a bit of customizing , Thanks Tulamide !!
I am now trying to get rid of the top bar above the list of names so I can place this beneath the PNG and the dropdown list will appear below. is there a line that i can remove to get rid of that ?
Found it, done !



Drpnw.gif
Drpnw.gif (36.64 KiB) Viewed 12555 times
User avatar
lalalandsynth
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby lalalandsynth » Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:15 pm

NICE ! Wooho !

Drpnw 2.gif
Drpnw 2.gif (32.96 KiB) Viewed 12555 times
User avatar
lalalandsynth
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby lalalandsynth » Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:46 pm

This is a slight issue , is it possible to modify this so you can close the menu again by hitting the main knob if you dont select anything ? Also , not as important , close it also if the mouse leaves the area of the knob and the menu so you cannot open multiple menus at the same time?


Drpnw Issue.gif
Drpnw Issue.gif (45.01 KiB) Viewed 12549 times
User avatar
lalalandsynth
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby lalalandsynth » Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:27 pm

Pretty cool , just to to solve the clicking on the png to close the dropdown in case you decide not to change anything.

And the little offset of the light gray banner on top of the fonts when I go to the lowest one.

Drpnw Solved.gif
Drpnw Solved.gif (87.34 KiB) Viewed 12544 times
User avatar
lalalandsynth
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby lalalandsynth » Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:25 pm

BTW, found out why my little meters will not work most of them time.
The stock " meters " seem to have a faulty ASM Ballistics module.
Replaced with an envelope follower and it works fine.

Well...fine, they dont disappear, feel they miss a few hits here and there.

They do however work Full size with the original module.

DISCLAIMER: I am working on the alpha version.

For now ;)
User avatar
lalalandsynth
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:48 pm

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby Spogg » Fri Oct 05, 2018 8:22 am

Looking really good!

That's made such a difference to your GUI.

Cheers

Spogg
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3323
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: Bitmap dropdown list ?

Postby tulamide » Fri Oct 05, 2018 9:40 am

It feels good to see, that you were able to create it from just a few hints from me and a basic fsm from Spogg. Which should tell you that you are cabable of way more than you trust yourself to do. Remember, you were willing to pay for something you could then create within hours!

So, be more self-confident! Or, as Nike used to say: Just do it!
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2687
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests

cron