Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Help! - I'm a MIDI Dunce !

For general discussion related FlowStone

Help! - I'm a MIDI Dunce !

Postby k brown » Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:45 pm

I guess MIDI is just too math-like, which I've always been incapable of - I read about MIDI Channels and such and I pretty much understand the concepts but when it comes to the mental leap to how it's actually applied, my brain collapses. Perhaps because I've no experience with DAWs, sequencers and such; I just fire up a synth and play it with a keyboard (often just the PC keyboard :P ), or my silly little Casio Horn.

Point being - I'm just finishing up project based on the Vemona PERfourMER II hardware synth, which is, at it's core, four complete single-osc synths (that Vermona calls 'channels') in one box. It has a couple of ways of responding to MIDI Channels that I get how they work, but no real clue how to implement them with FS. It has six so-called PlayModes -

Mono 1 - All channels heard together on each keypress. Nothing unusual here, with FS, can be mono or polyphonic.

Mono 2 - (This I've no idea how to do) Each keypress sounds each synth channel in turn.
Mono 2.jpg
Mono 2.jpg (74.03 KiB) Viewed 11960 times

Mono 2b.jpg
Mono 2b.jpg (62.18 KiB) Viewed 11960 times

I've read the various MIDI prim hover-over texts and - umm, I dunno :oops:

Duo 1 - Like Mono 2, but two channels heard with every other keypress.
Duo 1.jpg
Duo 1.jpg (67.78 KiB) Viewed 11960 times

Duo 2 is typical duophony, like the ARP Odyssey.