Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

Missing keys in cords

For general discussion related FlowStone

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby tektoog » Fri Jul 03, 2020 4:03 am

nix wrote:I can confirm the bug

Thx a lot Nix!
deraudrl wrote: I (sort of) see the "bug"
deraudrl wrote:I'm not sure it counts as a "bug"

Thx, it IS a bug... Doesn't matter where the signal comes from..; it's in the interpretation of the signal that the bug is... Midi to poly obviously... as Nix says he doesn't have this problem with the midi code he uses...
And I have the same thing when using my NanoKey controller...
Thx for your time guys... appreciated! ;)
If more people could confirm that... I'll link the Slack thread I made to this one...
"Essential random order for chaotic repetitive sequences"
User avatar
tektoog
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:49 pm
Location: Geneva - Switzerland

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby deraudrl » Fri Jul 03, 2020 4:11 am

tektoog wrote:Thx, it IS a bug... Doesn't matter where the signal comes from..; it's in the interpretation of the signal that the bug is... Midi to poly obviously...
Huh?!? You jumped to that conclusion with remarkably little (dare I say zero?) evidence.

If it were in MIDI to poly, it would show up in any MIDI input, including MIDI events coming from sequencers, algorithmic note generators, and even external DAWs.
I keep a pair of oven mitts next to my computer so I don't get a concussion from slapping my forehead while I'm reading the responses to my questions.
deraudrl
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:12 pm
Location: SoCal

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby tektoog » Fri Jul 03, 2020 4:23 am

Maybe... but I wouldn't say 0... Me, you, Nix spotted the bug...
So what would it be then?
It doesn't come from the controller as the PC keyboard and Midi controllers behave the same... buggy... ;)
I've tried many controllers as well... Main one being a NordLead2 (which is rock solid with midi controls, and it has almost all of them on front panel ;) )
Same thing with NanoKey, and MAudio O2... that's already 4 controllers that have the same behavior.
I could almost draw a conclusion from that... and then You and Nix confirmed...
That's why it would be nice if more people confirm that also ;)
"Essential random order for chaotic repetitive sequences"
User avatar
tektoog
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:49 pm
Location: Geneva - Switzerland

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby tektoog » Fri Jul 03, 2020 4:47 am

deraudrl wrote: it would show up in any MIDI input, including MIDI events coming from sequencers, algorithmic note generators, and even external DAWs.

I don't think so... there's a difference by reading data and interpreting external inputted data... it doesn't go thru the same pipe...
When you say sequencer, you mean DAW or internal Step sequencer or Arpeggio?
Because I said in a previous post that the example synth arpeggiator just gets stuck and produces no sound at all when hitting 3 keys at once, and it's because it is linked to the Midi2Poly...
Last thing to test really, is reading the chord in a DAW... Which I haven't really tried, cause I got stuck by the other problems I had (DS error, failing exports) before reaching this point ;) :? But it might work well just reading the data... need to be tested...
I will do that later, after sleep...
Take care ;)
"Essential random order for chaotic repetitive sequences"
User avatar
tektoog
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:49 pm
Location: Geneva - Switzerland

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby nix » Fri Jul 03, 2020 4:57 am

it is a problem with the 'midi in' component

'midi mono' sees 2 notes when 3 are pressed

there may not be a problem with the MIDI to poly conversion
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby tektoog » Fri Jul 03, 2020 5:05 am

nix wrote:it is a problem with the 'midi in' component

'midi mono' sees 2 notes when 3 are pressed

yep, you're right ;) good find! :) ;)
"Essential random order for chaotic repetitive sequences"
User avatar
tektoog
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:49 pm
Location: Geneva - Switzerland

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby nix » Fri Jul 03, 2020 5:44 am

thanks, glad the component to diagnose was there/easily found to help us
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby deraudrl » Fri Jul 03, 2020 6:54 am

nix wrote:it is a problem with the 'midi in' component
With any input or just PC keyboard?
I keep a pair of oven mitts next to my computer so I don't get a concussion from slapping my forehead while I'm reading the responses to my questions.
deraudrl
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 9:12 pm
Location: SoCal

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby nix » Fri Jul 03, 2020 7:46 am

I tried with my max 6 poly Squier Rockband Strat,
and I couldn't find any isuue with 6 poly, or several 3-4 note chords
I did seem to be getting some sort of buffer underrun, even with a high buffer

I can't say 100% that the problem is existant with my M-Audio Audiophile 5 pin DIN into FS,
or not. It seems usable, the buffer thing was no good to play though, but I don't ever run my Squier into FS until now
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: Missing keys in cords

Postby tektoog » Fri Jul 03, 2020 12:32 pm

For me,
It does it with my M-Audio O2 controller either plugged in Midi or USB
It does it with my M-Audio Uno USB2Midi interface
It does it with my Korg NanoKey controller (USB)
It does it with my Clavia NordLead2 synth plugged (with 5 pin midi) thru my TC electronic konnekt 8 soundcard
I won't make a video for each of these... ;)
It's a bug and need to be looked at by the Dev(s)
"Essential random order for chaotic repetitive sequences"
User avatar
tektoog
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:49 pm
Location: Geneva - Switzerland

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests