Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Ruby: require 'randomsecure' - Problem

For general discussion related FlowStone

Ruby: require 'randomsecure' - Problem

Postby tiffy » Tue Jun 27, 2017 10:15 am

When I run the Ruby “require 'randomsecure' “ instruction in the Flowstone Ruby interpreter it does what it is supposed to do, but when I export the code in the attached schematic as an *.exe file, then the *.exe file does not function at all. It appears then that the “ require ‘randomsecure’ “ instruction does not find the “randomsecure.rb” file only when the schematic is exported as an *.exe, but why? The *.fsm file and the *.exe exported file as well as the “randomsecure.rb” file (also attached for convenience only) all stays in the exact same folders, nothing changed. The code in the schematic is part of another larger schematic I am working on.
Attachments
Unique Random Code Generator.rar
(4.34 KiB) Downloaded 800 times
User avatar
tiffy
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 12:14 pm

Re: Ruby: require 'randomsecure' - Problem

Postby tulamide » Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:24 pm

I quote the user guide, chapter 8, section "Ruby Limitations", page 232:
Currently VST plugins generated by FlowStone cannot make use of Ruby extensions or Gems.


So, in order to use them in a VST, you'd need to place the code from SecureRandom (and all dependencies that are outsourced) in RubyEdits and take care that they are initialized in the correct order. They are then included in the exported dll and should work as any code you enter in RubyEdits.

Of course, that only works with extensions or Gems that are written in Ruby. Precompiled ones won't.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Ruby: require 'randomsecure' - Problem

Postby tiffy » Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:06 pm

tulamide wrote:I quote the user guide, chapter 8, section "Ruby Limitations", page 232:
Currently VST plugins generated by FlowStone cannot make use of Ruby extensions or Gems.


Thanks again tulamide, I surely missed this one in the userguide.
User avatar
tiffy
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 12:14 pm


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests