Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Position Synced StepLFO

Post any examples or modules that you want to share here

Position Synced StepLFO

Postby Nubeat7 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:30 pm

hallo, here i tried to do an position synced StepLfo, the goal was to set the position always on the right beat in a bar, in this example it is synced to 4/4 and you can choose per 1 bar, 2 bars or 4 bars also the steps are free to choose from 1 to 16 steps,

my solution was to make a ramp from ppq minus barstart (barstart sends the value of the bars every 4th, so 4,8,12,16,20,24,...) which is fine for use in one bar but to use it in 2 or 4 bars only every 2nd or 4th impulse of the barstarts has to be taken - i got lost in triggering so i wrote a "list" what will to be taken and what not, this list goes up to just 800 bars!

one time every 2nd and one time every 4th impulse of the barstart is read so the ramp starts every2nd or 4th bar, this list can be enlarged easily, but i think there must be another way to do this

some help, ideas, improfements would be great!
Attachments
steplfo ppq synced.fsm
(18.78 KiB) Downloaded 1424 times
Last edited by Nubeat7 on Fri May 29, 2015 9:34 pm, edited 6 times in total.
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: PositionSyncedStepLFO - help?

Postby trogluddite » Wed Nov 28, 2012 8:25 pm

Sounds like you need the 'Int Modulus' primitive. ('%')
Put the bar count into the top input, and the cycle length into the bottom one - the output then goes round in a loop from zero up to (count-1) and back to zero...etc... So after the modulus, you just check for zero's, and that will be every 'x' bars.
Also, I would use the Ruby 'custom ticker' instead of a tick100 - the timing is much more accurate, and you can make it go faster than 100Hz (though that will use a bit more CPU).
All schematics/modules I post are free for all to use - but a credit is always polite!
Don't stagnate, mutate to create!
User avatar
trogluddite
 
Posts: 1727
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:46 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: PositionSyncedStepLFO - help?

Postby Nubeat7 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:12 pm

great trog, it works like this, thanks!
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: PositionSyncedStepLFO - help?

Postby nix » Thu Nov 29, 2012 6:28 am

I didn't check it,
but if you need an accurate interval green tick,
u can use the MIDI arp,
I found this was better than the timer .fsm.,
because it is using host events clock.
I thought I'd like to welcome you to Outsim/RoboticsDSP
forums also 8D
Hope to see u around the traps
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: PositionSyncedStepLFO - help?

Postby Nubeat7 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:38 am

:D thanks nix,
yeah this seems to be a minefield, but i think i have a good working version now
i improved some things , it didn`t set to the right position when jumping out of the current barrange in host, like in loopmode or just jump forward or backward this should be solved now, i also put a read out mark on top of the lfo to see the current position in the step lfo, i commented and named all the stuff a bit better for better understanding

and yes i was hoping for ruby solution but with the arp i got out of the forum i cannot sync a step lfo to modulate something and here the ppq and barstarts are needed so its more about the position at some time in a song which are streams which have to be converted to frames and back - wouldn`t it be better to keep this in stream and code it in dsp code and optimize it in assembler ?

edit: check first file for latest version!
Last edited by Nubeat7 on Fri May 29, 2015 9:17 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: PositionSyncedStepLFO - help?

Postby Nubeat7 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:58 pm

ok, i found one issue, jump forward out of the current barrange in the host didnt set new barrangeposition...

it is solved i reuploaded the last version!!

i think it is working good now, just tell me if there are any issues or whatever....
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: PositionSyncedStepLFO - help?

Postby nix » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:53 am

Nice work!
I can't see anything in the green logic for barstart
that doesn't have a stream replacement.
Just have to nut it out.

My suggestion to use the arp isn't applicable here, sorry.
You need just the fastest tick to read the bar start,
not a steady one.

edit-at least I think it's doable in stream
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: PositionSyncedStepLFO - help?

Postby Nubeat7 » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:44 am

thanks nix, yeah i will have a look at it, i also started to try coding it in dsp but this world is too new for me, it is difficult for me, specially because "if esle" and "or" are not supported so i need to workaround some parts, so yeah maybe i should look for doing the schematic in stream before...
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: PositionSyncedStepLFO - help?

Postby nix » Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:43 pm

It's all DSP mate :mrgreen:
You'll need the code window though,
I think this is what u mean by DSP.
I can help with the stream selectors,
also making the logic to trigger sample and holds.
Sorry I can't help with 'if else' and 'or' though,
I have to learn.
I bet someone here know how to do the logic gates.
I'm going to be away for Australian summer,
I'll take this project with me,
just not sure if I need it for my music,
before I try and wire up the set bars.
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: PositionSyncedStepLFO - help?

Postby Nubeat7 » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:43 am

:) yes i meant the dsp code window, finally did everything in stream like you said and i can`t believe how much easier everything went after i saw that i had the simplest solution for everything already in the "when jumping out of setted barrange" module the only tricky thing was the " round down to int for stream", which i was not able to write in code but everything else is already coded and in stream now, without any tickers needed anymore :)

btw i put also a "round stream up or down" module in the schematic think it can be useful in the toolbox and the schematic streamversion

edit: check first file for latest version!
Last edited by Nubeat7 on Fri May 29, 2015 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Next

Return to User Examples

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 35 guests

cron