Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Arrays/Lookup-tables in code editor

DSP related issues, mathematics, processing and techniques

Arrays/Lookup-tables in code editor

Postby tulamide » Fri Jan 05, 2018 5:47 am

Is it possible to feed the code editor with an array?

Having 100s (even if just a dozen) of values that might be changed via green during runtime would be a disaster if fed via stream input 1 by 1.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Arrays/Lookup-tables in code editor

Postby martinvicanek » Fri Jan 05, 2018 6:35 am

If you want to stay with the DSP codebox and not use ASM, then one way to make large dynamic datasets available is via the wave read prim. That means that you have to split your code into two boxes: one calculating the index which is supplied to the wave read prim, and one which may then use the value provided by the prim.

If your application can "wait" for the data to be loaded "one by one", then that might be a viable alternative. In your post, does "100s" mean "hundreds" or "hundred seconds"?

P.s. Wait, according to the manual, the memin instruction is also available for DSP code. If you want to use memin, however, be prepared for frequent crashes. :mrgreen:
User avatar
martinvicanek
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: Arrays/Lookup-tables in code editor

Postby tulamide » Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:47 pm

Thank you, Martin!

After a second read, I admit that I was very lazy, when writing it :lol:
I meant "hundreds", and one by one was meant as the worst case scenario! I think I'm starting to learn the limits of the code editor, and that's a good thing. Trying to achieve something that will only later turn out to be impossible to do with the editor would discourage more than knowing beforehand, what's possible and what not.

Back to easy and simple tasks (I do them to get more used to the editor).
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany


Return to DSP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests