Page 1 of 1

Robot Simulation

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:32 pm
by Gyro
I am curious as to whether flowstone is capable of controlling a 3D simulated robot. I know it can directly control them, but i just need to know if there is a way to do what I am thinking of.

Re: Robot Simulation

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 1:47 pm
by Embedded
What exatly do you mean by 3D simulated robot?

some graphics on screen or more?

Re: Robot Simulation

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:43 pm
by lukzinho

Re: Robot Simulation

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2010 4:44 pm
by Gyro
Embedded wrote:What exatly do you mean by 3D simulated robot?

some graphics on screen or more?


For example, I want to make a specialized hexapod that is capable of flight. I need a simulation environment where a 3D model will act like it would in real life (in a virtual physics environment) to the code for a real microcontroller. In addition, I will be implementing some custom designs for motors (for the lift fans) and joint mechanisms (to replace servos) which I need to test before buying materials.

After searching on the internet, I found out that lynxmotion robots should work with flowstone, but more precisely the hexapods. As such, I have been debating whether the lynxmotion parts are Tetrix compatible, though this is probably the wrong place to ask about that. Any advice would be appreciated.

Re: Robot Simulation

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:55 am
by lukzinho
It would be something like Virtual Design Max 2.0 PE

Re: Robot Simulation

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:36 pm
by trogluddite
Gyro wrote:I am curious as to whether flowstone is capable of controlling a 3D simulated robot

In principle, yes, but it would be a very difficult and complex excercise - i.e. you would have to write your own physics engine, kinematics, reverse kinematics etc. - (or find .dll libraries to which FS could be interfaced).
Also, graphics in Flowstone are all made using Windows GDI+ (i.e. strictly 2D); there is no DirectX or OpenGL support, so for 3D visuals, you would have to make your own 3D engine, which would likely perform very poorly (GDI+ uses the main CPU with no hardware acceleration).