Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

[Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

For general discussion related FlowStone

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby tulamide » Wed Sep 09, 2015 2:11 pm

I thought about it. You said that in Synthmaker the s&h mosule won't work. That's absolutely possible, since it uses highly optimized Assembler code. There might be instructions added way after your Synthmaker version. What about the dsp code version? Does it work?
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby zucker1 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 7:02 pm

Sadly also the dsp code version does not work as supposed.
It won't be pitch preserving at all and sounds the same as using a simple interpoltaed delay with a dezipper :-(

I talked whith lawo, but the don't care about sdk 2.4 atm.

i really need that... (i only have 1 more week to get the thing up and working)

it's a shame that the old SM forum has gone.
I hoped that an SM user could have an working pitch preserving delay....

now im begging for help
zucker1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:48 pm

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby zucker1 » Mon Sep 14, 2015 8:02 am

tulamide wrote:What about the dsp code version? Does it work?

The dsp Version delivers on the xfade Output extreme values (1.233e+0007 and upcounting), delay1 always stays 0 and i have absolutly no idea why.

That's the dsp code
Code: Select all
streamin delay;
streamin freq;
streamout delay1;
streamout delay2;

float saw;

saw = saw + freq;
delay1 = delay1 + (delay - delay1)&(saw>0)&(saw<=freq);
delay2 = delay2 + (delay - delay2)&(saw>1);

saw = saw - 2&(saw>1);
xfade = abs(saw);
zucker1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:48 pm

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby tulamide » Mon Sep 14, 2015 9:33 am

zucker1 wrote:The dsp Version delivers on the xfade Output extreme values (1.233e+0007 and upcounting), delay1 always stays 0 and i have absolutly no idea why.

That's the dsp code
Code: Select all
streamin delay;
streamin freq;
streamout delay1;
streamout delay2;

float saw;

saw = saw + freq;
delay1 = delay1 + (delay - delay1)&(saw>0)&(saw<=freq);
delay2 = delay2 + (delay - delay2)&(saw>1);

saw = saw - 2&(saw>1);
xfade = abs(saw);

Í don't know much about dsp code, but it doesn't look right to me. xfade isn't defined anywhere, and this looks wrong:
Code: Select all
(delay - delay1)&(saw>0)&(saw<=freq)

If you mean something like "if saw greater than zero and lower than or equal to freq", shouldn't it then be written like so?
Code: Select all
(delay - delay1)&((saw>0)&(saw<=freq))


But maybe someone with better knowledge can say something about this.
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
tulamide
 
Posts: 2714
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby martinvicanek » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:56 pm

@zucker1 pm me your email address and I'll send you the fsm file with the pitch preserving delay.
User avatar
martinvicanek
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby zucker1 » Thu Sep 17, 2015 3:31 pm

Many thanks for all the help.
now it works pitch preserving (converting the Zipper Output to integer for the delay)

BUT one last Problem:

The delay value changes from 0samples to e.g. 3500samples and i'd need to make an smooth transition between these values (and back again).
so i take 0 or 3500 into an dezipper with transition time 1000ms.
but the output of the Dezipper jumps from 0 to about 200 and then smoothly increases until it reaches the endvalue of 3500. same when going back from 3500 to 0, the first step in an jump of about 100 to 200.

But i'd need a way to prevent These "large" step at the beginning of the transition.

is there a way to Change the behaviour of the dezipper or a "code-Version" of an dezipper that i could modify???


i found the slider module... i'm currently checking if this works for my need..but it seems so ;-)

MANY MANY thanks for all the help!!!!
YOU ARE AN GREAT COMMUNITY!!!
zucker1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:48 pm

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby zucker1 » Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:50 pm

using the slider instead of the Zipper has not worked for me well.

this is what i've put together right now.
it's far awaay from perfect and maybe you'd have a look (or an ear) at it and give me some hints how to do things better.
when chaning the delay with transition times smaller than 2.5seconds the Audio Signal jitters.
It will be needed to Change while someone is peaking.

i've added an gate so when noone is speaking, the transition gets 10 time faster.

thanks for any further Input.
Attachments
TEST ZUM ERSTELLEN EINES PLUGINS_V5e(to delete).osm
(76.56 KiB) Downloaded 784 times
zucker1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:48 pm

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby martinvicanek » Thu Sep 17, 2015 10:57 pm

zucker1 wrote:I need a way to prevent These "large" step at the beginning of the transition.
Is there a way to Change the behaviour of the dezipper or a "code-Version" of an dezipper that i could modify???


The dezipper will respond to a sudden change by linear ramping from the last value to the new value. If you have only positive values (=delay times) to consider and you want slower ramping for low values and faster ramping for high values, you could sandwitch the deziooer by a nonlinear function and its inverse, respectively.The screen shot below illustrates the idea fora log/exponential pair (both base 2):
yellow - input step function
green - plain dezipper
blue - sandwiched dezipper
nonlinearDezipper.png
nonlinearDezipper.png (30.26 KiB) Viewed 15445 times

If you are concerned about CPU load you can do two things:
1. use my optimized stream functions at Flowstone Guru
2. depending on your ASM skills - skip code if value does not change. KG's blog post at FS Guru tells you how to do that.
User avatar
martinvicanek
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby adamszabo » Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:49 am

would you be able to post that schematic Martin? :)
adamszabo
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 7:21 am

Re: [Q] export does not generate valid vst plugin

Postby zucker1 » Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:28 pm

HI Martin,
due i'm stuck on the old synthmaker, there's no 2^x and no log2(x) module.
i've tried to create an code block with
Code: Select all
streamin xin;
streamin xout;
xout = log10(xin) / log10(2)


and

Code: Select all
streamin xin;
streamin xout;
xout = pow(2,xin)


but the Output of the 2^x block delivers creepy negative values...
zucker1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:48 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 71 guests