Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

For general discussion related FlowStone

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby martinvicanek » Thu Dec 10, 2015 4:18 am

Todays hardware performance is amazing, isnt it? ;)
User avatar
martinvicanek
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 8:28 pm

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby nix » Thu Dec 10, 2015 6:05 am

Yeah man,
FS is sample by sample.
You can get 128k out of it too.
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby Nowhk » Thu Dec 10, 2015 10:46 am

martinvicanek wrote:Todays hardware performance is amazing, isnt it? ;)

Hahah, I don't mean this. I mean that such code:

Code: Select all
i = i + speed;
i = i&(i<samples);

processed at different clock (44100hz as you noticed) instead of 48Khz, makes huge differents if I use it for read sample from a Read module (as you suggested). Because it increase the speed of the whole process.

It is not a simple "for statement" that try to iterate in the slower time (more CPU you have, more faster it will be). Its a "for" that must iterate in a fixed time (i.e. sync). Am I right?

nix wrote:Yeah man,
FS is sample by sample.
You can get 128k out of it too.

But not every kind of processing inside FS! Ruby code is way more slower.
For what I see, only DSP code get and stay in synch at that speed (and maybe also Assembler code).
Nowhk
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:45 pm

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby Nowhk » Thu Dec 10, 2015 8:01 pm

Anyway I think I'm making some other mistakes:

Immagine.png
Immagine.png (39.54 KiB) Viewed 18916 times

Without rely on Graph (I removed it; could be delayed as suggested), every time an integer in INDEX module is outputted, I should immediatly see the current sample of that index changing in the other SAMPLE module.

Instead they are way (waayy) to async. What am I missing dudes? Its somethings like 3/4 seconds delayed. Too heavy...

schematic.fsm
(718 Bytes) Downloaded 846 times

can't figure it out! :(

I guess that:

when i==0 output => -0.693325
when i==1 output => 0.755871

and so on. Instead it "change" around i=1.78 for example, and the first step is quicker than the others (i=1 happens quickly).
Nowhk
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:45 pm

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby nix » Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:17 am

Yep- only streams use samples.

I'll have a peek at your schematic over the weekend
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby Nowhk » Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:21 am

nix wrote:Yep- only streams use samples.

I'll have a peek at your schematic over the weekend

Wow, thanks! You will make me very happy, because I need to made this kind of stuff for the project Ive in my mind. Stay tuned...
Nowhk
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:45 pm

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby nix » Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:29 pm

hmm-
can I get the whole LFO schematic?

Do you need to use ppq?

ps- when you use .00001 as the counter iter,
it takes very long to count to 1, which is where it will register an integer step in the wave read
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby nix » Sat Dec 12, 2015 8:37 pm

Hey again Nowhk,
I saw your post at Fruity, so I learnt more about the ppq hack.
Here is the counter I have modified->
schematic_integer.fsm
(1.15 KiB) Downloaded 897 times

So the string array and the counter read the same.
Does that help?
http://imageshack.com/a/img633/1214/qJgkVp.png
User avatar
nix
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby billv » Sun Dec 13, 2015 3:31 am

This might help.
Check the blue section in this modulator. (It's an old 'myco' circuit from way back.)
schematic_bv.fsm
(277.2 KiB) Downloaded 999 times
billv
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Clock Accuracy - 10ms?

Postby Nowhk » Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:54 am

nix wrote:Hey again Nowhk,
I saw your post at Fruity, so I learnt more about the ppq hack.
Here is the counter I have modified->
schematic_integer.fsm

So the string array and the counter read the same.
Does that help?
http://imageshack.com/a/img633/1214/qJgkVp.png

Uhm, I don't understand your schematic: it's identical to mine! And in fact using "i + .00001" I've the same problem.

billv wrote:This might help.
Check the blue section in this modulator. (It's an old 'myco' circuit from way back.)
schematic_bv.fsm

Uhm, not really :o The method is the same (stream->read mem->ppq tick->out), but the problem is that the index/output of the stream seems not aligned with the DSP code. I can see the values change, but not at the correct integer time/index :cry:
Nowhk
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:45 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 65 guests