If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Flowstone crashing
20 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Flowstone crashing
My Flowstone crashes kinda often. I bet it's because my obscure wiring is far from ok, though it seems kinda random. Now finally i have a case where i'm able to reproduce the meltdown
The attached schematic is my very first go at a simple Delay module. The module works, producing delay according to parameters and chosen delay type. To select the delay type i used a Selector dropdown module, and this is the heart of my booboo If i change the delay type a few times in a row (using the mouse clicking the dropdown) my Flowstone crashes. Sometimes it takes a good handful of changes, sometimes only a few. It happens even if there is no sound going through the delay.
Remeber that i am very new to Flowstone and you may find my schem to be kinda childish So, besides kicking me in the right direction towards a solution to my Selector problem, i am also very open to general input about good and bad practice in Flowstone.
Cheers
The attached schematic is my very first go at a simple Delay module. The module works, producing delay according to parameters and chosen delay type. To select the delay type i used a Selector dropdown module, and this is the heart of my booboo If i change the delay type a few times in a row (using the mouse clicking the dropdown) my Flowstone crashes. Sometimes it takes a good handful of changes, sometimes only a few. It happens even if there is no sound going through the delay.
Remeber that i am very new to Flowstone and you may find my schem to be kinda childish So, besides kicking me in the right direction towards a solution to my Selector problem, i am also very open to general input about good and bad practice in Flowstone.
Cheers
- Attachments
-
- Delay.fsm
- Crashing delay
- (23.08 KiB) Downloaded 914 times
- Flemming
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:48 am
Re: Flowstone crashing
hmm, thats a good question, your schematic should be fine, it seems that this is related to this bug
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2674&start=40
this looks like that the bug is related to selectors and asio, because the schematic works if you choose not an asio audiodriver!
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2674&start=40
this looks like that the bug is related to selectors and asio, because the schematic works if you choose not an asio audiodriver!
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Flowstone crashing
i tried to just put 2 selectors in series and the same happens!
edit: it seems that it also happens with generic lowlatency driver but not that often!
edit: it seems that it also happens with generic lowlatency driver but not that often!
- Attachments
-
- audioselector bug.fsm
- (24 KiB) Downloaded 937 times
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Flowstone crashing
Aw, bugger anyways, thanks for checking my schem out. I'm glad it looks normal.
Too bad about the bug, but it seems from the other thread that it already has been reported.. og should i do something active to let the grownups know that we found a 'dead squirel in the sandbox'??
Thank you very much for your feedback, Nubeat7.
I actually like this forum a lot. I'm proud to have become a 'stoner'
Too bad about the bug, but it seems from the other thread that it already has been reported.. og should i do something active to let the grownups know that we found a 'dead squirel in the sandbox'??
Thank you very much for your feedback, Nubeat7.
I actually like this forum a lot. I'm proud to have become a 'stoner'
- Flemming
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:48 am
Re: Flowstone crashing
You may use code block to "mimic" a selector/multiplexer. Usually Selectors also bypass the sections that are turned off (So the don't process = don't waste CPU), but in this particular schematic it makes no difference, so there shouldn't be any significant CPU waste at all.
- Code: Select all
//Multiplexer
streamin Select;
streamin in;
streamout out0;
streamout out1;
streamout out2;
out0=in&(Select==0);
out1=in&(Select==1);
out2=in&(Select==2);
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: Flowstone crashing
Flemming wrote:Aw, bugger anyways, thanks for checking my schem out. I'm glad it looks normal.
Too bad about the bug, but it seems from the other thread that it already has been reported.. og should i do something active to let the grownups know that we found a 'dead squirel in the sandbox'??
Thank you very much for your feedback, Nubeat7.
I actually like this forum a lot. I'm proud to have become a 'stoner'
I would still pass it on, just email support.
- Exo
- Posts: 426
- Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:58 pm
- Location: UK
Re: Flowstone crashing
Exo wrote:I would still pass it on, just email support.
You're right. I sent them an email with links to here and the other thread.
- Flemming
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:48 am
Re: Flowstone crashing
KG_is_back wrote:You may use code block to "mimic" a selector/multiplexer. Usually Selectors also bypass the sections that are turned off (So the don't process = don't waste CPU), but in this particular schematic it makes no difference, so there shouldn't be any significant CPU waste at all.
- Code: Select all
//Multiplexer
streamin Select;
streamin in;
streamout out0;
streamout out1;
streamout out2;
out0=in&(Select==0);
out1=in&(Select==1);
out2=in&(Select==2);
I copied your code and used it to replace the Multiplexer primitives. Then i started clicking that Selector dropdown like i was all out of coffee - no crashing yet. I'll have to catch some sleep now, but i'll make sure to click some more tomorrow..... just to be sure
Thank you very much for this solution!
- Flemming
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:48 am
Re: Flowstone crashing
Nubeat7 wrote:i tried to just put 2 selectors in series and the same happens!
edit: it seems that it also happens with generic lowlatency driver but not that often!
Your Selector example crashes here for me also. I play a few notes and then click the Selector a few times, i get a crash.
So i guess that both the Multiplex and Selector primitives are affected by this bug
- Flemming
- Posts: 31
- Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:48 am
Re: Flowstone crashing
I tried both Flemming's and Nubeat7's example schematic and they work completely flawlessly in Flowstone 3.0.2 Firefly free version - never had a single crash even after several dozen tries. So the bug must've been introduced after that update.
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
20 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 67 guests