Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

Byte vs Byte

Home and building automation using flowstone

Byte vs Byte

Postby JB_AU » Sat May 24, 2014 11:05 am

How do i send 1byte aka 8bits through the comport module?
In my model i have a string i.e. 01001101 , which to me is 8 bits or 1 byte :shock:
If i send this, by firstly choosing the manual override, the log shows 8 bytes sent :?
I think because it is a string, it sends 0.. 1.. 0.. 0.. 1.. 1.. 0.. 1.. , should i be using hex values as i don't see a way for byte?

Next question :roll:

I would like my override switch to send a character to the port '^' (TRUE) or '$' (FALSE) depending on its state, i can then have the mcu flip between sending or receiving states.

:o Exactly 1 year ago i asked for help :o
Attachments
Bt_Present.fsm
(157.28 KiB) Downloaded 665 times
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe."

Albert Einstein
User avatar
JB_AU
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 11:01 pm

Re: Byte vs Byte

Postby Walter Sommerfeld » Mon May 26, 2014 10:46 am

Hi JB,

YUP i would choose Hex mode (use Binary 2 Hex and vice versa)...

send a character to the port '^' (TRUE) or '$' (FALSE) depending on its state

Here i would send a Hex 'Packet' like FF00 and FF01 or similar to switch into manual override!
Then decode/detect it on the receiver side...
User avatar
Walter Sommerfeld
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:00 pm
Location: HH - Made in Germany


Return to Home Automation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest