If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Trigger Timer (debug)
8 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Trigger Timer (debug)
Here's a little tool I made that spits out a set number of triggers at a set rate and then stops.
The second output blocks triggers but can be used to switch selectors if they receive other triggers (I was using this to test my Trigger Limiter and didn't want to add the trigger to the counter).
The second output blocks triggers but can be used to switch selectors if they receive other triggers (I was using this to test my Trigger Limiter and didn't want to add the trigger to the counter).
- Attachments
-
- Trigger Timer v1.2 by PHI.fsm
- (29.05 KiB) Downloaded 1070 times
Last edited by Perfect Human Interface on Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Trigger Timer (debug)
Not sure if its important to you, but the Custom
Ticker still has not been fixed and does not
output the first trigger.
See it better by setting module to 1 trigger per second,
you'll be waiting a full second before 1st trigger happens.
Fix by adding. .
output 0, t....in the 'When 0' section...or something like that.
Handy module..thanks for sharing
Ticker still has not been fixed and does not
output the first trigger.
See it better by setting module to 1 trigger per second,
you'll be waiting a full second before 1st trigger happens.
Fix by adding. .
output 0, t....in the 'When 0' section...or something like that.
Handy module..thanks for sharing
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
Re: Trigger Timer (debug)
billv wrote:Not sure if its important to you, but the Custom
Ticker still has not been fixed and does not
output the first trigger.
See it better by setting module to 1 trigger per second,
you'll be waiting a full second before 1st trigger happens.
Fix by adding. .
output 0, t....in the 'When 0' section...or something like that.
- Code: Select all
when 0
if !@ticking && @state
@ticking = true
output 0
input 100,nil,t+@step
end
yes you just need to include a tick to the output when state changes to true, to get the first tick when set the ticker to 'on'
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Trigger Timer (debug)
Thanks nubeat7...that's a better way to phrase it.
And also, this is wrong..
It does output the first trigger. According to it's design.
Apologies to DSPR for using the word "Fixed".
I've only just worked this out, but the default behaviour is right,
cause say, if you set interval to 1 sec, shouldn't you expect the first trigger
to arrive after 1 sec...
Note:
I have noted this tendency of mine of "bad phrasing"/"unclear advice" for a while now.
So I have been making a conscious effort not to get involved, and hope to eventually
dissappear behind my dodgy releases .
And also, this is wrong..
billv wrote:Ticker still has not been fixed and does not
output the first trigger.
It does output the first trigger. According to it's design.
Apologies to DSPR for using the word "Fixed".
I've only just worked this out, but the default behaviour is right,
cause say, if you set interval to 1 sec, shouldn't you expect the first trigger
to arrive after 1 sec...
Note:
I have noted this tendency of mine of "bad phrasing"/"unclear advice" for a while now.
So I have been making a conscious effort not to get involved, and hope to eventually
dissappear behind my dodgy releases .
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
Re: Trigger Timer (debug)
billv wrote:I've only just worked this out, but the default behaviour is right,
cause say, if you set interval to 1 sec, shouldn't you expect the first trigger
to arrive after 1 sec...
Hmm, I suppose this is right. Honestly I never even considered whether the timing of the first trigger was right or anything so it's not bad that you brought it up.
I see all my time on the DSP forums as a learning process and I'm sure my posts have exemplified that as much as anyone.
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Trigger Timer (debug)
this depends on the case what the ticker is used for,..
for example, if you use it to trigger notesequences it needs to trigger also the first note when the sequence is started (if a note is on position 0)... so if it is right or not depends on the usecase.
you can easily implement a properties condition that the first trigger (when setting state to on) is sent or not...
for example, if you use it to trigger notesequences it needs to trigger also the first note when the sequence is started (if a note is on position 0)... so if it is right or not depends on the usecase.
you can easily implement a properties condition that the first trigger (when setting state to on) is sent or not...
-
Nubeat7 - Posts: 1347
- Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
- Location: Vienna
Re: Trigger Timer (debug)
Minor update; just added a bit of spaghetti so the switch turns itself off when the maximum value is reached, for convenience.
- Perfect Human Interface
- Posts: 643
- Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm
Re: Trigger Timer (debug)
Perfect Human Interface wrote:that spits out a set number of triggers at a set rate
This was a great little idea P.H.I.
Needed the technique recently, but was in ruby, and ended up with this
"no-frills" version of your module. No spaghetti..just the sauce!
- Code: Select all
def event i,v,t
@times = 16
@step = 0.125
@a=Array.new(@times){|x|x=x*@step}
@times.times do |x|
output 0,t,t + @a[x]
end
end
Adding this line will output the current step at the same time...
- Code: Select all
output 1,@a[x],t + @a[x]
Or, my favourite ATM,
- Code: Select all
output 1,@count=@count.succ,time + @a[x]
This turns it into a "Loop" int type of module, like the Green prim.
Big difference being with this, is the timing of the iterations can be controlled.
This is something I've needed several times in the past...
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
8 posts
• Page 1 of 1
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 91 guests