Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

Trigger Timer (debug)

Post any examples or modules that you want to share here

Trigger Timer (debug)

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Mon Sep 29, 2014 10:01 pm

Here's a little tool I made that spits out a set number of triggers at a set rate and then stops.

The second output blocks triggers but can be used to switch selectors if they receive other triggers (I was using this to test my Trigger Limiter and didn't want to add the trigger to the counter).

TriggerTimer.PNG
TriggerTimer.PNG (5.27 KiB) Viewed 21431 times
Attachments
Trigger Timer v1.2 by PHI.fsm
(29.05 KiB) Downloaded 1070 times
Last edited by Perfect Human Interface on Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: Trigger Timer (debug)

Postby billv » Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:16 am

Not sure if its important to you, but the Custom
Ticker still has not been fixed and does not
output the first trigger.
See it better by setting module to 1 trigger per second,
you'll be waiting a full second before 1st trigger happens.
Fix by adding. .
output 0, t....in the 'When 0' section...or something like that.
Handy module..thanks for sharing :D
billv
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Trigger Timer (debug)

Postby Nubeat7 » Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:25 am

billv wrote:Not sure if its important to you, but the Custom
Ticker still has not been fixed and does not
output the first trigger.
See it better by setting module to 1 trigger per second,
you'll be waiting a full second before 1st trigger happens.
Fix by adding. .
output 0, t....in the 'When 0' section...or something like that.

Code: Select all
   when 0
      if !@ticking && @state
          @ticking = true
          output 0
          input 100,nil,t+@step
      end


yes you just need to include a tick to the output when state changes to true, to get the first tick when set the ticker to 'on'
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Trigger Timer (debug)

Postby billv » Wed Oct 01, 2014 8:31 am

Thanks nubeat7...that's a better way to phrase it.
And also, this is wrong..
billv wrote:Ticker still has not been fixed and does not
output the first trigger.

It does output the first trigger. According to it's design.
Apologies to DSPR for using the word "Fixed".
I've only just worked this out, but the default behaviour is right,
cause say, if you set interval to 1 sec, shouldn't you expect the first trigger
to arrive after 1 sec...

Note:
I have noted this tendency of mine of "bad phrasing"/"unclear advice" for a while now.
So I have been making a conscious effort not to get involved, and hope to eventually
dissappear behind my dodgy releases :lol: .
billv
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Trigger Timer (debug)

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Wed Oct 01, 2014 10:29 am

billv wrote:I've only just worked this out, but the default behaviour is right,
cause say, if you set interval to 1 sec, shouldn't you expect the first trigger
to arrive after 1 sec...


Hmm, I suppose this is right. Honestly I never even considered whether the timing of the first trigger was right or anything so it's not bad that you brought it up.

I see all my time on the DSP forums as a learning process and I'm sure my posts have exemplified that as much as anyone. ;)
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: Trigger Timer (debug)

Postby Nubeat7 » Wed Oct 01, 2014 10:59 am

this depends on the case what the ticker is used for,..

for example, if you use it to trigger notesequences it needs to trigger also the first note when the sequence is started (if a note is on position 0)... so if it is right or not depends on the usecase.

you can easily implement a properties condition that the first trigger (when setting state to on) is sent or not...
User avatar
Nubeat7
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:59 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Trigger Timer (debug)

Postby Perfect Human Interface » Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:26 am

Minor update; just added a bit of spaghetti so the switch turns itself off when the maximum value is reached, for convenience.
Perfect Human Interface
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:32 pm

Re: Trigger Timer (debug)

Postby billv » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:33 pm

Perfect Human Interface wrote:that spits out a set number of triggers at a set rate

This was a great little idea P.H.I. :D
Needed the technique recently, but was in ruby, and ended up with this
"no-frills" version of your module. No spaghetti..just the sauce!
Code: Select all
def event i,v,t
    @times = 16
    @step = 0.125
    @a=Array.new(@times){|x|x=x*@step}
    @times.times do |x|
    output 0,t,t + @a[x]
    end
end

Adding this line will output the current step at the same time...
Code: Select all
output 1,@a[x],t + @a[x]

Or, my favourite ATM,
Code: Select all
output 1,@count=@count.succ,time + @a[x]

This turns it into a "Loop" int type of module, like the Green prim.
Big difference being with this, is the timing of the iterations can be controlled.
This is something I've needed several times in the past... 8-)
billv
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
Location: Australia


Return to User Examples

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 87 guests