Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Post any examples or modules that you want to share here

Re: The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Postby newdsp » Fri Dec 18, 2020 2:47 am

As soon as the PC Keyboard is connected or activated or the Midi In is re-connected that seems to send a midi event of some kind which gives the error.

I'm thinking to not connect any midi ports to the script directly. Only the output from the midi splitter to be connected and processed by the script. That way I can check if Status is 144 and Data 1 is the note number needed then just output the note and the status. It should be less complicated that way.
newdsp
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:57 am

Re: The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Postby Spogg » Fri Dec 18, 2020 7:47 am

I find it worrying that I didn’t get any problems myself in 3.06. The only issue I had during development was in the FS4 alpha, and it was pointed out that I’d used the word “send” as a method name which, it turns out, is a reserved word. But that was fixed easily before release and trog kindly gave me a method to list all the forbidden words.

But I realise there’s one thing in common with my tests in 3.06 and FS4 alpha: my PC. I have a core i7 2nd gen running Widows 7 32 bit and 64 bit partitions. So if there’s something different it could be a critical timing issue of some sort. So could you tell me the spec and OS etc of your PC please?

It’s also worth mentioning that I’ve had a lot of favourable feedback about the plugin with no mention of any issues other than one guy who found that the on-screen midi keyboard didn’t work in Reaper, but a real keyboard was fine. Maybe that’s a clue but I don’t know how to interpret it.
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3327
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Postby newdsp » Fri Dec 18, 2020 10:01 am

Mine is Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit but it's possible I'm missing some of the older C++ runtimes. I will have to do all the updates first and see if that changes anything. At the moment I'm seeing only the C++ 2008 to 2013 installed. I never tried it with a midi controller yet. I only use the PC Keyboard for midi input.
newdsp
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:57 am

Re: The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Postby Spogg » Fri Dec 18, 2020 11:17 am

I just checked and on my system it works with just the PC keyboard. Not all the keys are mapped on the GHB presets but it works fine with NSP presets etc (full chromatic).

What’s your CPU?
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3327
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Postby newdsp » Fri Dec 18, 2020 11:45 am

CPU is an AMD FX 8350 but I don't see how it can be from the CPU because the Chaos is opening and running fine. It even works in 309b2. FL Studio also works with many other plugins. It might need the older 2005 C++ runtime I'm guessing which looks like it's not installed.
newdsp
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:57 am

Re: The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Postby Spogg » Fri Dec 18, 2020 1:45 pm

I agree the CPU shouldn’t be the cause. I just wondered if there might be some timing issue if yours was quite a bit slower. But it’s similar spec to mine.

So the other variables are the Windows version and C++ as you say.

Good luck and let us know how you get on.
User avatar
Spogg
 
Posts: 3327
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Postby newdsp » Fri Dec 18, 2020 6:59 pm

In the Midi Globals I found 12 wireless connectors that are greyed out or not connecting to the source/destination at all. That's definitely an error with the fsm file. It's hard to fix it when I don't even know how all that key switching is supposed to work. Maybe we could simplify it by making it random or automatic ?

This code also shows no errors when using midi splitter and combiner:

if @status = 144 and @note = 48 or 50 or 60
output 0, @status
output 1, @note
end
newdsp
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:57 am

Re: The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Postby trogluddite » Sat Dec 19, 2020 12:50 am

newdsp wrote:This code also shows no errors when using midi splitter and combiner:

if @status = 144 and @note = 48 or 50 or 60

TL/DR: The above predicate will always return true. It may also assign new values to @status and/or @note! The following line (among other possible ones) should do what you want...
Code: Select all
if 144 == @status && (48 == @note || 50 == @note || 60 == @note)

There are multiple reasons for this, so no quick way to describe why the original code is flawed. So, i've made a new thread about how Ruby booleans work, using the above line as a useful example: TRUE or FALSE: Ruby booleans are weird?!
All schematics/modules I post are free for all to use - but a credit is always polite!
Don't stagnate, mutate to create!
User avatar
trogluddite
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:46 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: The Quilcom SIM-BP: Simulate bagpipes. If you want.

Postby newdsp » Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:38 am

I will have to test it to really see if it's doing the note filtering and if it's passing only the note on messages. In the mean time I made a random panner that can be used with the Quilcom Flooper. I probably have to make the Flooper inputs selectable between mono and stereo for this to work properly.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1POY0fH ... sp=sharing
newdsp
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 1:57 am

Previous

Return to User Examples

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests