Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

sound freezer

DSP related issues, mathematics, processing and techniques

Re: sound freezer

Postby tester » Thu May 01, 2014 5:13 pm

Why the loop lenght is multiplied by 4?
4 channels?
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: sound freezer

Postby KG_is_back » Thu May 01, 2014 5:24 pm

No... the memory size is in bytes. One sample is 4bytes (single precision float)
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: sound freezer

Postby tester » Thu May 01, 2014 5:48 pm

In other words, for stereo recording - it would be set to 8, yes?
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: sound freezer

Postby KG_is_back » Thu May 01, 2014 5:52 pm

yes... but in case you want to convert the loop to wavetable I'd avoid using stereo memory - in stereo memory odd samples are left channel and even are right, but wavetable generation works only in mono
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: sound freezer

Postby tester » Thu May 01, 2014 5:53 pm

Yes I know, I'm just comparing schematics I have here.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: sound freezer

Postby tester » Thu May 01, 2014 6:07 pm

Okay, I found some guts, so I have something like this.
Now I need to make that counter right.

Basically, my idea is to use a single cycle of ramp and scale it. Somehow. :-)
(I'm not sure how this recording/counting thing works, and what stops it)
Attachments
make-003.fsm
(6.35 KiB) Downloaded 1318 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: sound freezer

Postby KG_is_back » Thu May 01, 2014 6:17 pm

alternatively you can use the memory to both write and read the loop like this...
Attachments
looper.fsm
(160.75 KiB) Downloaded 1352 times
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: sound freezer

Postby tester » Thu May 01, 2014 6:42 pm

Okay, I'm lost a little bit. I have no idea how (why) it works. :-)

Generally, what I need to do, is - when I freeze the sound (which is a loop), and like the results I hear - I'd like to capture that portion, but not to a wave file, just to a text file, that can be then loaded/transformed to a wavetable.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: sound freezer

Postby KG_is_back » Thu May 01, 2014 7:06 pm

the write to memory works only if its output is connected to mono receiver (soundcard output, mono to float etc) and the values simply pass through unaltered. so while the selector is set to the write, the pirmitive writes to a memory. once you switch it to read, it stops writing (is bypassed in a way you are probably familiar with - selector) and it is being read by read primitive. the memory then contains the loop as a wave and you can use mem-to-floatarray primitive to convert it to array of floats.
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: sound freezer

Postby tester » Thu May 01, 2014 7:16 pm

Ah, I see. I was wondering why I could not get readout from both prims at once.

Meanwhile I extracted the part that I'd like to combine with saving the snapshot. You need to select input first, then run audio out. Freeze button shows what is frozen, and this is what I'd like to send as a single-cycle wave (text). (basically I probably will reduce the wavetable making to buffer size = 1).
Attachments
temp.fsm
(35.98 KiB) Downloaded 1338 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

PreviousNext

Return to DSP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 51 guests