Support

If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com

There are 3 sections to this support area:

DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers

HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects

USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here

NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum

Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright

Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

For general discussion related FlowStone

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby KG_is_back » Wed Mar 11, 2015 7:49 pm

Perfect Human Interface wrote:Should the "if" statements maybe support SSE by default? You said it is possible, maybe it is less efficient, but wouldn't consistency in such a modular environment be more important than efficiency? I'm referring to the idea that in Flowstone we operate under the assumption that using SSE is as simple as wiring a mono4 through a stream connector. It would be frustrating if people started releasing all sorts of components and it ended up a bunch of them weren't SSE compatible. How would the end-user know or find out? Especially for those who are working with less knowledge of Flowstone, both in using and writing DSP2 components, it could be an important issue.

Would it be possible to create two different "ifs," one which is more robust and supports SSE fully and predictably and one which is basic and functions as you've described?


You've got a good point there. When I started the DSPcode2 project, it mainly meant to be a DSPcode for mono, that enables several possibilities that are only mono-compatible (namely branching and looping). SSE itself was not meant to contain such features - it was meant to reduce size of loops and allow some parallel processing (by processing 4 identical operations in parallel). Above-mentioned SSE compatible "If" statement is more of a "hack". It becomes especially complicated in nested loops (when you need different number of iterations for each channel) and branching within branching. Frankly, I can't even do it at my current level of programming knowledge. There's a loot of stuff to be considered and done if such behaviour should be implemented (for example when global variable is being updated inside a function, or when data travels form one channel to another). I'm not saying it can't be done, I'm just saying it's beyond my skills at the moment, but maybe in the future... who knows.

What I personally consider the main update vs. the old DSPcode is to allow bigger customization. To combine low level features (like inline assembler) with high-level features (ifs, loops, no need to manage registers and labels) and to wrap low-level stuff into usable high-level features (declaring new functions as ASM blueprints).

Once the main work is done, I will write a manual that will describe all features (and point out all their differences vs. the "mono-channel" programming languages like C and ruby) along with several useful and clear examples (like the one I pointed out above). I will clearly point out which features are mono-only and provide poly-compatible versions (or at least examples how to mimic poly compatibility) if it's even possible.

I'm glad we're having this discussion, it gives me an idea what people actually expect from this...
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby KG_is_back » Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:13 am

Hello... DSPcode2 compiler is close to finish. I still have to make the implementation of of IFs and loops, but the function part is finished. I'd kindly ask people to start making function packs. I've written a detailed manual with several examples. Hopefully it's clear enough - feel free to edit the manual / write new one :-D.
Attachments
manual.fsm
change extension to .rar
(421.26 KiB) Downloaded 1094 times
DSPcode0.12.fsm
(19.14 KiB) Downloaded 1110 times
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby tester » Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:13 pm

Why the manual does not opens in flowstone and asks for flowbotics studio?
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby KG_is_back » Mon Mar 16, 2015 3:57 pm

tester wrote:Why the manual does not opens in flowstone and asks for flowbotics studio?

Because it's a .rar file not a fsm - you have to change the extension from .fsm to .rar and unpack it (there's a doc file inside).
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby Exo » Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:19 pm

Great stuff KG, I will make a start on a function pack :)
Flowstone Guru. Blog and download site for Flowstone.
Best VST Plugins. Initial Audio.
Exo
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: UK

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby tester » Tue Mar 17, 2015 3:27 pm

KG_is_back wrote:
tester wrote:Why the manual does not opens in flowstone and asks for flowbotics studio?

Because it's a .rar file not a fsm - you have to change the extension from .fsm to .rar and unpack it (there's a doc file inside).


My mistake. OTOH tried with zip files?
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
tester
 
Posts: 1786
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
Location: Poland, internet

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby DjMmix » Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:31 pm

nice work KG_is_back :)

your code generator is really impressive :o
DjMmix
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 8:02 am
Location: france

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby KG_is_back » Fri Mar 20, 2015 12:38 am

guys, I think I'm going crazy... I've finished the compiler this morning and started to make some functions for the stock pack... then I've realized that one particular peace of code works only when used using .setAdvancedCodeGen but doesn't work for any other type (.setRunCode for example). In BlueprintCode method the @inputCodes array changes to default value and I can't figure out why. There is no apparent reason why it should do that. I'm completely lost and feel helpless :(

EDIT: murphys law... I've found the problem instantly after submitting this post :lol: :lol:
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby RJHollins » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:05 am

EDIT: murphys law... I've found the problem instantly after submitting this post

had that happen too often ... but glad for it !!
RJHollins
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Custom DSP Code 2 (comunity project)

Postby KG_is_back » Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:55 am

RJHollins wrote:
EDIT: murphys law... I've found the problem instantly after submitting this post

had that happen too often ... but glad for it !!


I've lost count how many times I rage-quitted in this project :-D hundreds of lines of code, handling mostly strings, arrays and hashes... what can go wrong eh? They say it's more about the journey than destination... I sincerely hope this will be fifty:fifty with the whole journey-and-destination thing and that this will become a widespread Flowstone tool. I'm near finish, I'll just add a few more functions into "factory" pack and post the beta version, so you guys can find all those nasty bugs I've left behind :-D
KG_is_back
 
Posts: 1196
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
Location: Slovakia

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 112 guests