If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
home brew sequencer
34 posts
• Page 2 of 4 • 1, 2, 3, 4
Re: home brew sequencer
Here is the array reader integrated->
Cheers!
Next is MIDI
Cheers!
Next is MIDI
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: home brew sequencer
On first look it looks great. Well done mate. Array inputs too!. Cool.
Your missing the first hit though. You need to stick in that ticker mod like I did in other post
http://www.dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1254&hilit=ticker.
Remember the "custom ticker" code does not output the first hit, but waits the step time, then fires.
Put 1 or 2 as the step time to see the problem easier.
On second look now, it looks great all-around. Everthing needed is there, Just missing re-set.... yes??
Great stuff man....look forward to playing with this tommorrow.....
Your missing the first hit though. You need to stick in that ticker mod like I did in other post
http://www.dsprobotics.com/support/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1254&hilit=ticker.
Remember the "custom ticker" code does not output the first hit, but waits the step time, then fires.
Put 1 or 2 as the step time to see the problem easier.
On second look now, it looks great all-around. Everthing needed is there, Just missing re-set.... yes??
Great stuff man....look forward to playing with this tommorrow.....
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
Re: home brew sequencer
I can figure something out I hope,
but the first number in the sequence is 0,
it reads index 0 in the array.
If rate is set to 1, and the counter is reset,
the first number output is index 0 at 0sec & second is 1@1 sec
Isn't that right?
I'll have to see with the MIDI, if a trigger is sent on play(true),
it may be a flaw
edit- I see u edited, but I'll leave my reply,
coz we have to see how it goes with MIDI.
Reset is the button, it isn't sample accurate
8D 8D , hope you can use this!
but the first number in the sequence is 0,
it reads index 0 in the array.
If rate is set to 1, and the counter is reset,
the first number output is index 0 at 0sec & second is 1@1 sec
Isn't that right?
I'll have to see with the MIDI, if a trigger is sent on play(true),
it may be a flaw
edit- I see u edited, but I'll leave my reply,
coz we have to see how it goes with MIDI.
Reset is the button, it isn't sample accurate
8D 8D , hope you can use this!
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: home brew sequencer
MIDI note on/off->
hehe-it makes a noise now.
If u check it, listen to the interval to see how accurate it is.
Should be sample accurate
hehe-it makes a noise now.
If u check it, listen to the interval to see how accurate it is.
Should be sample accurate
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: home brew sequencer
OK-
now I need the 'changed' primitive in Ruby.
Does ne1 know how to do it?
Each note is recieving a MIDI on,
so with 'changed' we can make notes more than 1 step long.
now I need the 'changed' primitive in Ruby.
Does ne1 know how to do it?
Each note is recieving a MIDI on,
so with 'changed' we can make notes more than 1 step long.
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: home brew sequencer
nix wrote:hehe-it makes a noise now.
If u check it, listen to the interval to see how accurate it is.
Should be sample accurate
nix wrote:OK-
now I need the 'changed' primitive in Ruby.
Does ne1 know how to do it?
Each note is recieving a MIDI on,
so with 'changed' we can make notes more than 1 step long
After putting in the tick fix to get the first note, I changed the array numbers to 0,1,0,1
Seemed to go right then. gave it a quick VST test. All good mate. Spot on.
If those array numbers were the note numbers... just lost 2 hours trying to mod it-failed again.
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
Re: home brew sequencer
try making it 8 steps,
and use 11101010,
when it plays 111,
you'll hear what I mean with the note triggering.
it plays 3 ons, instead of a longer note.
The text box gives ons and offs to note 60(C4).
I did it this way because it will fit into DreamSequence.
I can give you a hand to make it so that there is pitched notes coming out.
we could make note off 0, and then the note number for on.
like
72,0,60,0,72,72,0,0
That's cool it worked in FL, thanks for trying it.
Will try and deal with any idiosyncrasies.
I'll try and find the old logic for 'changed'
IIRC, it was a circuit
IMO-don't give up, you'll get the mods u need in time.
I'm happy to get so far with my design in a day 8D
Ur right, it doen't play the first note, but once it has cycled once it plays the sequence correctly
and use 11101010,
when it plays 111,
you'll hear what I mean with the note triggering.
it plays 3 ons, instead of a longer note.
The text box gives ons and offs to note 60(C4).
I did it this way because it will fit into DreamSequence.
I can give you a hand to make it so that there is pitched notes coming out.
we could make note off 0, and then the note number for on.
like
72,0,60,0,72,72,0,0
That's cool it worked in FL, thanks for trying it.
Will try and deal with any idiosyncrasies.
I'll try and find the old logic for 'changed'
IIRC, it was a circuit
IMO-don't give up, you'll get the mods u need in time.
I'm happy to get so far with my design in a day 8D
Ur right, it doen't play the first note, but once it has cycled once it plays the sequence correctly
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: home brew sequencer
nix wrote:The text box gives ons and offs
Noticed that, but I saw the count coming out of the Ruby ticker module,
so that's where i spent most of my time, trying to assign a counting number to
a midi out within ruby....
nix wrote:it plays 3 ons, instead of a longer note.
there's lots of ways to butcher it at the moment, which is a really fun way to learn...
nix wrote:I'm happy to get so far with my design in a day
it's a wicked little playground. Who knows what it will morph into over time.....
BV MUSIC SYDNEY AUSTRALIA..Songwriting and Software development
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
Headquartershttps://www.bvmusicsydneyaustralia.com/
Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/7JO8QM40mVmHb7pAwKPJi0
Donatationhttps://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=HEUR8R7K8GZ4L
- billv
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:34 pm
- Location: Australia
Re: home brew sequencer
billv wrote:it's a wicked little playground. Who knows what it will morph into over time.....
That makes it worthwhile Bill,
although it's fun, and there's nothing like success,
it takes some mental work to solve the problems.
So I can count this as work.
It could be a sample accurate automation mechanism for genetics or medicine lab robots.
Here I have fixed the first note on, make sure to reset it before play to check.
Also I somehow partially fluked the 'changed' module,
maybe someone can tell me what's going on with 'block?' code.
So now you can latch it so it won't play staccato,
I left the option to retrig on a bool->
Chuffed!
I'll make it so u can punch in notes today and play melodies 8D
edit-I fixed 2 minor bugs and updated the file in this post.
1.it wasn't seeing the text box without a trigger, just added a trigger
2. the string to float conversions were playing up, now reading a 0, not a nil
I'll do the melody thing soon
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
Re: home brew sequencer
So-while this is working pretty good monophonically,
I tried putting it in my full piano roll,
with 127 array readers.
There is a problem.
'v' connections totally lose sync and trip out when you are sending links to a lot of componenents.
Does anyone have any ideas?
I tried with wireless and with links.
Using MIDI instead also loses sync.
So the old system with a green integer works,
but nulls any accuracy advantages that could be gained.
hmm, how can I populate 127 array readers?
Could I use a global variable successfully?
I tried putting it in my full piano roll,
with 127 array readers.
There is a problem.
'v' connections totally lose sync and trip out when you are sending links to a lot of componenents.
Does anyone have any ideas?
I tried with wireless and with links.
Using MIDI instead also loses sync.
So the old system with a green integer works,
but nulls any accuracy advantages that could be gained.
hmm, how can I populate 127 array readers?
Could I use a global variable successfully?
-
nix - Posts: 817
- Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 10:51 am
34 posts
• Page 2 of 4 • 1, 2, 3, 4
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests