If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
sound freezer
48 posts
• Page 3 of 5 • 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Re: sound freezer
Why the loop lenght is multiplied by 4?
4 channels?
4 channels?
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: sound freezer
No... the memory size is in bytes. One sample is 4bytes (single precision float)
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: sound freezer
In other words, for stereo recording - it would be set to 8, yes?
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: sound freezer
yes... but in case you want to convert the loop to wavetable I'd avoid using stereo memory - in stereo memory odd samples are left channel and even are right, but wavetable generation works only in mono
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: sound freezer
Yes I know, I'm just comparing schematics I have here.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: sound freezer
Okay, I found some guts, so I have something like this.
Now I need to make that counter right.
Basically, my idea is to use a single cycle of ramp and scale it. Somehow.
(I'm not sure how this recording/counting thing works, and what stops it)
Now I need to make that counter right.
Basically, my idea is to use a single cycle of ramp and scale it. Somehow.
(I'm not sure how this recording/counting thing works, and what stops it)
- Attachments
-
- make-003.fsm
- (6.35 KiB) Downloaded 1317 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: sound freezer
alternatively you can use the memory to both write and read the loop like this...
- Attachments
-
- looper.fsm
- (160.75 KiB) Downloaded 1352 times
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: sound freezer
Okay, I'm lost a little bit. I have no idea how (why) it works.
Generally, what I need to do, is - when I freeze the sound (which is a loop), and like the results I hear - I'd like to capture that portion, but not to a wave file, just to a text file, that can be then loaded/transformed to a wavetable.
Generally, what I need to do, is - when I freeze the sound (which is a loop), and like the results I hear - I'd like to capture that portion, but not to a wave file, just to a text file, that can be then loaded/transformed to a wavetable.
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
Re: sound freezer
the write to memory works only if its output is connected to mono receiver (soundcard output, mono to float etc) and the values simply pass through unaltered. so while the selector is set to the write, the pirmitive writes to a memory. once you switch it to read, it stops writing (is bypassed in a way you are probably familiar with - selector) and it is being read by read primitive. the memory then contains the loop as a wave and you can use mem-to-floatarray primitive to convert it to array of floats.
- KG_is_back
- Posts: 1196
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:43 pm
- Location: Slovakia
Re: sound freezer
Ah, I see. I was wondering why I could not get readout from both prims at once.
Meanwhile I extracted the part that I'd like to combine with saving the snapshot. You need to select input first, then run audio out. Freeze button shows what is frozen, and this is what I'd like to send as a single-cycle wave (text). (basically I probably will reduce the wavetable making to buffer size = 1).
Meanwhile I extracted the part that I'd like to combine with saving the snapshot. You need to select input first, then run audio out. Freeze button shows what is frozen, and this is what I'd like to send as a single-cycle wave (text). (basically I probably will reduce the wavetable making to buffer size = 1).
- Attachments
-
- temp.fsm
- (35.98 KiB) Downloaded 1338 times
Need to take a break? I have something right for you.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
Feel free to donate. Thank you for your contribution.
- tester
- Posts: 1786
- Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:52 pm
- Location: Poland, internet
48 posts
• Page 3 of 5 • 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 63 guests