If you have a problem or need to report a bug please email : support@dsprobotics.com
There are 3 sections to this support area:
DOWNLOADS: access to product manuals, support files and drivers
HELP & INFORMATION: tutorials and example files for learning or finding pre-made modules for your projects
USER FORUMS: meet with other users and exchange ideas, you can also get help and assistance here
NEW REGISTRATIONS - please contact us if you wish to register on the forum
Users are reminded of the forum rules they sign up to which prohibits any activity that violates any laws including posting material covered by copyright
Selector checkmark
15 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Selector checkmark
Hey,
After all these years, I feel kind of dumb to ask for that but, I actually just realised that
When using submenus with the stock selector, how do you get the checkmark to also show up in the first menu branch?
Is it only possible, or do I have to use a ruby type selector?
A great thanks in advance for your answers...
After all these years, I feel kind of dumb to ask for that but, I actually just realised that
When using submenus with the stock selector, how do you get the checkmark to also show up in the first menu branch?
Is it only possible, or do I have to use a ruby type selector?
A great thanks in advance for your answers...
"Essential random order for chaotic repetitive sequences"
-
tektoog - Posts: 141
- Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:49 pm
- Location: Geneva - Switzerland
Re: Selector checkmark
AFAIK, there isn't a way to check a sub-menu heading. It's only possible to check a single item, and it has to be one of the selectable indexes. It works the same way in Ruby, too (and the same for Ruby's option to "grey out" an item).
I'd really like the ability to use arrays to specify multiple ticks or grey-outs - it would be really handy for creating drop-down menus with multiple toggled options etc. There are really only two workarounds...
1) Dynamically modify the options-list string to include your own marker characters when they're needed. This is relatively simple, but it never looks as nice as a proper tick-mark, no matter what characters or font you choose.
2) Build a completely custom selector from basic GUI primitives. This can look very smart, but is a lot harder work, as you'd have to do all of the drawing and mouse handling yourself.
I'd really like the ability to use arrays to specify multiple ticks or grey-outs - it would be really handy for creating drop-down menus with multiple toggled options etc. There are really only two workarounds...
1) Dynamically modify the options-list string to include your own marker characters when they're needed. This is relatively simple, but it never looks as nice as a proper tick-mark, no matter what characters or font you choose.
2) Build a completely custom selector from basic GUI primitives. This can look very smart, but is a lot harder work, as you'd have to do all of the drawing and mouse handling yourself.
All schematics/modules I post are free for all to use - but a credit is always polite!
Don't stagnate, mutate to create!
Don't stagnate, mutate to create!
-
trogluddite - Posts: 1730
- Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:46 am
- Location: Yorkshire, UK
Re: Selector checkmark
Trog, thanks for your answer…
… which is the one I was afraid of...
This is the conclusion I came to also… but,... I will live with the mark on the second layer
Another small detail, but which has all its importance when you want to present a polished end project…
Should be another small update that would present FS at its best...
… which is the one I was afraid of...
trogluddite wrote:There are really only two workarounds...
This is the conclusion I came to also… but,... I will live with the mark on the second layer
Another small detail, but which has all its importance when you want to present a polished end project…
Should be another small update that would present FS at its best...
"Essential random order for chaotic repetitive sequences"
-
tektoog - Posts: 141
- Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:49 pm
- Location: Geneva - Switzerland
Re: Selector checkmark
I would additionally also love the ability to insert seperator lines, as in other Windows menus. (I had this weird dream that since then feels like it was real, where I accidentally found an ascii sign that inserted a seperator line)
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Selector checkmark
tulamide wrote:...(I had this weird dream that since then feels like it was real, where I accidentally found an ascii sign that inserted a seperator line)
At least your dreams about FlowStone make sense!
-
Spogg - Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:24 pm
- Location: Birmingham, England
Re: Selector checkmark
Just came accross this post while searching for drop list posts . . . .
Tulamide wrote:
well now you can
It won't be the prettiest code you've ever seen . . but it works
Trog wrote:
Well I've had a lot of Flow_time recently and someone had to do it
This is still very much a work in progress. Tick marks and separaters are done . . I'm now looking at sub-menus and greying out . . could take a while!
Enjoy
Tulamide wrote:
I would additionally also love the ability to insert seperator lines, as in other Windows menus.
well now you can
It won't be the prettiest code you've ever seen . . but it works
Trog wrote:
Build a completely custom selector from basic GUI primitives. This can look very smart, but is a lot harder work, as you'd have to do all of the drawing and mouse handling yourself.
Well I've had a lot of Flow_time recently and someone had to do it
This is still very much a work in progress. Tick marks and separaters are done . . I'm now looking at sub-menus and greying out . . could take a while!
Enjoy
Last edited by DaveyBoy on Sun Jun 28, 2020 7:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
DaveyBoy - Posts: 131
- Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 9:18 pm
- Location: Leeds UK
Re: Selector checkmark
DaveyBoy wrote:Tulamide wrote:I would additionally also love the ability to insert seperator lines, as in other Windows menus.
well now you can
That's a really nice one! And the code is structered well, it is no problem to follow it. Maybe somewhere in the future we could outsource the graphics elements, so that it is easier for people to adapt it to their style. Other than that: hats off! I can imagine the time it took to create.
Thank you for sharing!
"There lies the dog buried" (German saying translated literally)
- tulamide
- Posts: 2714
- Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 2:48 pm
- Location: Germany
Re: Selector checkmark
That is some nice work DaveyBoy
- RJHollins
- Posts: 1571
- Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:58 pm
Re: Selector checkmark
DaveyBoy wrote:well now you can
Haaaaaaaaaaa!!!!
What a good soul you are!!!
Nice work there!
I didn't get that part though... Maybe you could explain it?
- Code: Select all
# ---------------------------------------
when 100 # File - New Put Droplist finished code here |
# if @menus[@menu_over][:items][@item_over] == true |
# Do Something |
# else Do something else |
# end |
when 101 # File - Open |
# |
when 203 # Edit - Copy |
# |
when 414 # Options - Midi Stop |
# |
when 502 # Help - Check for updates V
# etc
# etc
# ---------------------------------------
end
DaveyBoy wrote:This is still very much a work in progress. Tick marks and separaters are done . . I'm now looking at sub-menus and greying out . . could take a while!
Could you maybe also post a functional example of the edit menu? like implementing the undo/redo, cut/copy/paste functions?
But maybe is it too much demanding?
As Tulamide already said
tulamide wrote:hats off!
It looks really "professional" and polished... Good job!!!
"Essential random order for chaotic repetitive sequences"
-
tektoog - Posts: 141
- Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:49 pm
- Location: Geneva - Switzerland
Re: Selector checkmark
Thanks for the kind words guys.
Writing 'Flow_time' instead of 'Flow-time' is a bit of a givaway
Tektoog - The best way I can think of to explain is to think of banks of switches.
The first bank (File) starts from 100 the second bank {Edit) from 200 . . and so on.
This could all have been put in the mouseLDown method but I thought it better to do it this way
The input numbers are virtual inputs (as opposed to physical inputs) to the Ruby code box and when you select or tick/untick a menu item the event method sees this and acts accordingly. You just need to put some logic in the appropriate event number to make it do what you want it to do.
in the attached example I've implemented the File - Open item and all the Options items. The latter are changing the state of boolean variables. I've put the outputs in the watch panel (was easier for me )
I hope this explains it better
in my original reply, in the 32 bit version I omitted to name a wireless input which would have caused the config file not to be written, this has now been fixed.
Tulamide wrote:
I can imagine the time it took to create.
Writing 'Flow_time' instead of 'Flow-time' is a bit of a givaway
Tektoog - The best way I can think of to explain is to think of banks of switches.
The first bank (File) starts from 100 the second bank {Edit) from 200 . . and so on.
This could all have been put in the mouseLDown method but I thought it better to do it this way
The input numbers are virtual inputs (as opposed to physical inputs) to the Ruby code box and when you select or tick/untick a menu item the event method sees this and acts accordingly. You just need to put some logic in the appropriate event number to make it do what you want it to do.
in the attached example I've implemented the File - Open item and all the Options items. The latter are changing the state of boolean variables. I've put the outputs in the watch panel (was easier for me )
I hope this explains it better
in my original reply, in the 32 bit version I omitted to name a wireless input which would have caused the config file not to be written, this has now been fixed.
-
DaveyBoy - Posts: 131
- Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 9:18 pm
- Location: Leeds UK
15 posts
• Page 1 of 2 • 1, 2
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 79 guests